Michael Henry “Mac” McBurnette~Causalty of Vietnam War

TO THE VIETNAM VETERAN

My Hero, Michael Henry “Mac” McBurnette
 
 
Birth: Oct. 17, 1945
Louisiana, USA
Death: Jan. 20, 1995
Sugar Land
Fort Bend County
Texas, USA

Mike was a helicopter pilot in Vietnam. Thirteen of his buddies died when their helicopter was shot down.

He suffered from “survivor guilt” for twenty years. He suffered from alcoholism and overeating and nicotine addiction.

Mac helped a lot of suffering alcoholics and addicts to begin recovery, in the TDCJ-ID Central unit in Sugar Land, TX. He was loved by many! He worked for the prison system, and helped start a group at the Jester II unit for vietnam veterans.

God, I miss him! Mac worked as Senior Counselor, for SATP department, for the prison system at the Central unit from April 1, 1985 to Oct. 28, 1994.

Promoted to Regional Director of SATP, where he worked tirelessly up until his suicide on Jan. 15, 1995.

I too, was very disallusioned with the prison system, that chose to just “sweep it under the rug”, and by it I mean Mac’s suicide, and a lot of other unjust things.

He had been sober for over twenty years. That month we had a quarterly meeting at Jester I, Richmond, TX. No one even mentioned his name! He was supposed to lead that meeting!

Needless to say I was pissed. David M. asked me if I was alright, and I answered, “Hell, no I am not OK!” NOT one mention of Mike or a prayer for our leader. Mac suffered and died, and not one person even acted like they missed him.

I knew that no one cared about the inmates, but after that I realized that they didn’t care about us dedicated employees either.

I left that dysfunctional system in 1996, after five years of dedicated, hard work trying to help alcoholics and addicts begin their road to recovery. I used my own literature and books to try and help those boys in the Central unit of the T. D. C. J., with no thanks from the screwed up lying, back stabbing, and dysfunctional system or any of his friends but me!

God never gives up on us, even when we do. RIP Mike!

Note: Mike was cremated.

A1C, US AIR FORCE

 
Burial:
Houston National Cemetery
Houston
Harris County
Texas, USA
Plot: MA, 0, 83
 
Maintained by: TEXAS TUDORS
Originally Created by: US Veterans Affairs Offi…
Record added: Feb 25, 2000
Find A Grave Memorial# 968184

Leave a Reply

